The historic, iconic Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame was founded in 1951 – the first state athletic Hall of Fame created in the country.  The Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame (1951) was created before the Pro Football Hall of Fame (1963) or the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame (1959). The Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame features Hank Aaron, Vince Lombardi, Oscar Robertson, Bart Starr, Barry Alvarez, Bonnie Blair, Al McGuire and other athletic icons.  The Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame Foundation Mission is to preserve Wisconsin’s rich history of athletic excellence, celebrate the values and virtues of sports and to inspire the principles of Teamwork, Leadership and Character development from Wisconsin’s greatest athletic heroes to our athletes of the future so that we can positively impact the culture and life lessons of youth sports in our state and beyond.


WI HOF Charities.png

Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame's Distinguished Inductees

Greatness is rare. It seems almost other-worldly. If we are lucky enough to see it, we know immediately we are witnessing something special. It wins championships. It sets records. And then breaks the ones it set. 

The Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame is filled with 138 individuals who epitomize greatness. Some are household names, like Hank Aaron, Bart Starr, Vince Lombardi and Oscar Robertson. And they represent a wide range of sports - from baseball, football and basketball to auto racing, water skiing, bowling, cycling and speed skating. And they are all here to be honored by each of us for their extraordinary achievements in sport.

Wisconsin Athletic Walk of Fame

For a closer look at some of these members, visit their bronze commemorative plaques at the Wisconsin Athletic Walk of Fame outside UW-Milwaukee Panther Arena in downtown Milwaukee.